Monday, February 23, 2009

And the Oscar goes to

Oscar Statuette Facts

Official Name: Academy Award® of Merit

Height: 13½ inches

Weight: 8½ pounds

Number of Awards Presented: 2,701

First Recipient: Emil Jannings, named Best Actor for his performances in “The Last

Command” and “The Way of All Flesh” in 1929

Design: A knight holding a crusader’s sword, standing on a reel of film. The film reel features five spokes, signifying the five original branches of the Academy (actors, directors, producers, technicians and writers).

Designer: Cedric Gibbons, chief art director at Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer

Sculptor: Los Angeles artist George Stanley

Manufacturer: R. S. Owens & Company in Chicago

Manufacturing Time: 3–4 weeks for 50 statuettes

No comments:

Randomly click me

Related Posts with Thumbnails

Random followers